While in the surgeon’s waiting room today…

Today, I am at a routine follow-up visit at the surgeon’s office (from the appendix surgery).  While in the waiting room; I got to talking to an older but  all around healthy looking gentleman with a very noticeable Irish brogue.  Most of you know that I’m the talkative / conversational type – I got to asking questions… A trait that I inherited from my maternal grandmother.

From our brief 12 minutes together, I learned that the man is a father to four and  grandfather to ten; has been battling a form of lung cancer for the past twenty-two months @ Penn and that he is very content with life and everything that it brings to him.  He’s also a “retired” general contractor but is adamant about completely shutting down shop this year.  We talked about the differences in our chemo regimens and side effects like seven year old boys discussing stats of their favorite players.  We also commiserated about the missed projects / days/ and financial setbacks that this has (or will) occurr(ed).   As I was called back for my vitals, I wished the man good luck and he the same.

I must say: he reminded me of a Celtic version of my father – not so soft-spoken, work ethic beyond the impossible (I could tell by the grip of his hand) and fighting until he can’t anymore.  It was both jolting and refreshing to talk to this man.  All in 12 minutes.

6 thoughts on “While in the surgeon’s waiting room today…

  1. Love to hear things like this – aren’t these encounters amazing on your journey? Your father is always with you and I am not surprised that you met an Irish version of him!!! 🙂 Keep fighting cuz, NO MATTER WHAT!!! Your name is being prayed for over the alter at church. Always here for you. God bless and love to all

    Liked by 1 person

  2. although it is hard to believe that there was a man as hard working as your father it is possible lol.
    i am very happy that i find you in good spirits!!!
    Keep fighting the good fight cuz!!!!!!
    you are in my prayers as well as your whole family

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment